In a somewhat surprising turn of events, Hot Chelle Rae won the Sprint New Artist of the Year trophy at the 2011 American Music Awards. It's not that the guys didn't deserve the glass award, but the newcomers were definitely underdogs since they were up against artists like Wiz Khalifa.

The guys from Hot Chelle Rae had a big year thanks to their smash summer hit 'Tonight, Tonight.' When their names were read as the winners by presenter Joe Jonas, the young guys were all smiles as they walked up to the stage to accept the award. The quartet was obviously really excited as they began to spit out a long list of names during their "thank you" speech.

"This is a fan-voted award and this wouldn't be possible without them. I [also] want to thank God," Hot Chelle Rae singer Ryan Follese said (while wearing one of the worst pair of shoes we've ever seen -- sorry, Ryan!). Chord Overstreet's brother/HCR band member Nash Overstreet also thanked the guys' "friends and families for their support." He closed the speech by exclaiming, "We did it!" You certainly did, Hot Chelle Rae! Congrats!