At only 25 years old, newly-signed Interscope artist Lana Del Rey is making waves in the music industry for her unique style of music and dreamy, sultry vocals. The pouty songstress is one of the most talked about artists for 2012, with Lana Del Rey's new album 'Born to Die' slated for release on Jan. 31, 2012.

With a talent for blending both retro and contemporary sounds, Del Rey has been captivating fans since her clip for 'Video Games' began blowing up on YouTube (it now has nearly 15 million views). The single was the first off of Lana Del Rey's new 2012 album 'Born to Die,' and the track carries personal meaning for the songstress since it stemmed from a past relationship.  "I just put that song online a few months ago because it was my favorite," Del Rey told The Observer. "To be honest, it wasn't going to be the single but people have really responded to it ... I get very sad when I play that song. I still cry sometimes when I sing it."

Del Rey, whose real name is Elizabeth Grant, has a wide range of musical influences including Nirvana, Elvis Presley, Britney Spears, Nina Simone and Leonard Cohen. As you might've guessed, her music reflects her love for a myriad of different genres, from hip-hop and pop to blues and rock.

Like 'Video Games,' which contains prevalent harps and symphonic elements, the title track 'Born to Die' also boasts orchestral instruments. 'Born to Die' also contains steady, pounding drums and electronic elements, reminding us of a back beat that could appear on a Drake or Lil Wayne song. On the other hand, 'Blue Jeans' -- which isn't an official single off of 'Born to Die' -- contains foreboding, western guitars that sound like they're straight out of a John Wayne film. Combine all of this with Del Rey's breathtaking, haunting voice (which she describes as a "gangsta Nancy Sinatra" and hopes to make her songs "the sonic equivalent to a Vincent Gallo film") and her deeply emotional and sassy lyrics, and you've got a new, distinct sound that sticks with you.

Speaking about her 2012 album, Del Rey told Rolling Stone (via Tumblr), "My writing process…it’s been the same for a very long time. I never feel rushed. I never feel pressure. I really have a strong idea about what I like to hear myself write and sing. A deadline never compromises things for me. If I didn’t have the right material, I would never release it." She continued, "I keep it really clear. I talk a lot about Thomas Newman’s score for 'American Beauty.' That was a soundtrack I really was inspired by. Girogio Mirto, I talk about the orchestral work he’s done. Think Thomas Newman score for American Beauty meets early Bruce Springsteen 'sex Americana.' And put them together, but place it in Miami and have me singing it. That’s what I tell them."

When asked about the sound on 'Born to Die,' Del Rey also said, "I think most of the songs verge on dark and beautiful,” she said. “I mean, when I make a record, I’m not really going for a big show-stopping sound. I’ve been singing for so long now that you just end up writing for yourself and making it as personal as possible.”

"I used to just walk the length of Manhattan and think about the way things used to be and sing different melodies to my song as I was walking along the water," she continued. "Now that I’ve been working with producers, it depends. Sometimes Justin [Haynie] will come into the studio and tell me he has a chord progression that reminds him of me. And if I like it I’ll take it from there and start freestyling and just rhyme things out. Again, reflecting on my life. It really does depend on the situation."

If you are sick of hearing the same generic pop music, then look no further. Lana Del Rey's 2012 album is sure to be a huge hit, with a brand-new batch of emotive, thoughtful tracks that deliver an entirely fresh sound that is both current and vintage. Del Rey is one of those genre-defying, mass-appealing artists that only comes around once in a blue moon, so be sure to snag a copy of 'Born to Die' on Jan. 31.

'Born to Die' Track Listing:

1. 'Born to Die'
2. 'Off to the Races'
3. 'Blue Jeans'
4. 'Video Games'
5. 'Diet Mountain Dew'
6. 'National Anthem'
7. 'Dark Paradise'
8. 'Radio'
9. 'Carmen'
10. 'Million Dollar Man'
11. 'Summertime Sadness'
12. 'This Is What Makes Us Girls'