Rihanna's 777 Tour kicked off with a bang, as we traversed from Los Angeles to Mexico City and then to Toronto on a 777 Boeing jet to promote her seventh studio LP, 'Unapologetic.' There's 150 of us from 82 countries along for the ride, so we weren't sure what to expect.

Of course, we're talking about Rihanna, the ultimate party girl and body-baring pop star that just wants to have a good time. Around 12 noon, we boarded our Delta plane  -- home for the next six days, and where we will be eating, sleeping, and anticipating Rihanna's next move.

But before the cabin crew announced "let's get the party started," Rihanna played flight attendant and jumped on the intercom. "There is an emergency. Code 777. Please buckle up your seatbelts," she yells. "You guys ready? 77 motherf---ing 7! Ready for Mexico? Ready for some tequila? Let’s get drunk!"


Later she gets on the intercom again to talk a bit about the gift bags she gave us... full of necessities (a toothbrush, a water bottle) and gifts (like Roc Nation headphones, a watch and a tiny little bracelet). "Everybody look at their gift bags right now … there's a tiny little string in there, and it looks tiny and cheap… but if you read the fine print, it's a real diamond."

Everyone screams.

She adds: "So you can never say you never had a diamond in your life."

An hour into the flight is when things started to get crazy. Rihanna starting making rounds on the Delta aircraft, offering us all a glass of Armand De Brignac 'Ace of Spades' champagne -- displayed in a golden dipped bottle. We drank the $200-plus bubbly in plastic cups, but hey, we're not complaining.


We met a few peeps, too -- from the label in Canada and other music sites -- as well as DJs from Australia and Vancouver and some Rihanna Navy fans, who have been following RiRi since 2009 and frequently get calls from her every time she's in the Big Apple, where they reside. These four fans who are here for fun (hey, we all have to work, remember?) started a dance party around floor speakers, grooving to 'Unapologetic' songs such as 'Nobody's Business,' 'Numb,' and her lead single, 'Diamonds.'

Soon after we landed, we headed straight to El Plaza Condesa, where Rihanna would be kicking off her 777 Tour. The venue holds 2,000 people, including local fans who either stood in line outside or won tickets that day. We were treated to DJ Congorock, who kept us entertained until RiRi made her debut on stage. "I want to apologize for being so late," Rihanna told the crowd, adding, "You [all] make me feel really special."


And she made it worth the wait, performing a set list that included 20 songs from her vast discography. She appeared wearing an edgy black mini shorts with a cropped bralet and jacket with red piping; her face was accessorized with white round-rimmed glasses. She glided when she sang, gyrating on the more sexified tracks ('Cake,' 'S&M,' and 'Talk That Talk') and throwing her head back every time her vocals elongated to hit those high notes, especially when she closed out the single 'Diamonds.'

For most of the gig, she shared the stage with her two backup singers, her drummer, and her base player and lead guitarist, the latter shredding during the interlude during 'Talk That Talk.'

After the third song, she shared with the crowd: "This is crazy. This is the first show of the 777 tour… It's been such a long time I've been wanting to come here." She then said, "That's why this [next] song is extra special and I need you to sing along with me," before diving into 'Wait Your Turn.'

The next set consisted of ballads, where she relied more on her distinctive voice. (Seriously, we were amazed how rested she sounded!) She dove into 'Unfaithful' after taking a shot of tequila on stage, followed by 'Take a Bow' and 'Hate That I Love You.'

Some highlights we loved: When she weaved in the hook from Tyga's 'Rack City' into the second verse of 'What's My Name?'; strutting across the stage showing off her taut tummy during 'Phresh Out the Runway'; and closing the set with 'Umbrella' followed by 'We Found Love,' which was accompanied by crazy smoke effects and confetti.

After the show, Rihanna Tweeted:

Check out the set list below!

777 Tour Mexico City Set List:
1. 'Cockiness'
2. ‘Birthday Cake (Remix)’
3. 'Talk That Talk'
4. 'Wait Is Over'
5. 'Man Down'
6. 'Only Girl in the World'
7. 'Disturbia'
8. 'S&M'
9. 'Phresh Off the Runway'
Acoustic Set:
10. 'Unfaithful'
11. 'Take a Bow'
12. 'Hate That I Love You'
(End Acoustic Set)
13. 'Where Have You Been'
14. 'What’s My Name?'
15. 'Run This Town'
16. 'Live Your Life'
17. 'All of the Lights'
18. 'Diamonds'
19. 'Umbrella'
20. 'We Found Love'