The Hunger Games

Suzanne Collins’ young adult dystopian series, The Hunger Games, quickly captivated readers -- both young and old alike -- upon the release of its first installment in 2008. Protagonist Katniss Everdeen offered young readers a strong female heroine who -- with the help of her cohorts Peeta, Gale, Haymitch and more -- takes charge and revolts against a corrupt society that forces children to brutally fight to the death in the annual, titular Hunger Games. The trilogy became such a phenomenon with readers that it was quickly adapted for the big screen. Jennifer Lawrence portrayed a convincing Katniss, alongside Josh Hutcherson as Peeta and Liam Hemsworth, who portrayed her other love interest, Gale. The first film was released in 2012 followed by 2013’s Catching Fire. The final book was split up into two movies: 2014’s Mockingjay – Part 1 with Part 2 due out in 2015.

Selected Filmography: The Hunger Games (2012), The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2013), The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1 (2014)

Related Artists: Jennifer Lawrence, Liam Hemsworth, Josh Hutcherson

Further Reading: ‘The Hunger Games’ Theme Park to Open in 2016, Fierce Female Characters From Books, Movies + TV, 10 Things We Learned From ‘The Hunger Games: Mocking Jay – Part 1’ Special Features

15 Celebrities Who Were Nearly Cast In 'The Hunger Games'
15 Celebrities Who Were Nearly Cast In 'The Hunger Games'
15 Celebrities Who Were Nearly Cast In 'The Hunger Games'
Since the cliffhanger ending of 2014's The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1, we've waited to see what will become of Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Lawrence), Gale Hawthorne (Liam Hemsworth) and Peeta Mellark (Josh Hutcherson) in The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2, slated for release this Friday, November 20...

Load More Articles